Transit Police

SEPTA Police shield

Since 1981, the Transit Police Department has been dedicated to keeping customers safe and secure, while protecting SEPTA property and staff.

Transit Police Officers are responsible for policing the entire regional SEPTA system, covering an area of five Pennsylvania counties (Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia) and three states (Delaware, New Jersey and Pennsylvania).

Nearly 260 sworn officers serve and protect within the 2,200 square-mile SEPTA service area. There are three patrol districts, allowing officers to easily respond to emergencies while empowering them to quickly make decisions and address local issues.

The Transit Police Department extends beyond the regular beat with units of specially trained officers. These units receive an additional level of training and provide specialized support in policing a public transit system.

Contact Transit Police

  • Emergency: (215) 580-8111
  • Non-Emergency: (215) 580-4487
  • Administrative: (215) 580-3641
  • Text-a-Tip: (215) 234-1911

Emergency Call Boxes in subway stations also put you in immediate contact with Transit Police.

If you need to report an emergency or suspicious situation and you do not have phone or call box access, notify a vehicle operator, conductor or booth attendant immediately.

Transit Watch App

Transit Watch app logo

The SEPTA Transit Watch app, available for Apple iOS and Android, lets you report incidents in seconds. You may:

  • Report an incident by phone or text.
  • Submit a photo or video of an incident.
  • Be contacted by a dispatcher to obtain additional information.
  • Receive “Be on the Look Out” alerts and send back information if you see the person being sought.